Student Representatives of the administration

A student representative is the voice of students in decision making. There are student reps in the University’s governance ranging from the Board of Directors to Degree Programme Committees.

Faculty Boards

Faculty Boards are legal administrative bodies in faculties with multiple members (Universities Act §27). They handle the management of the faculties alongside deans and the Faculty Management Groups and decide on the faculty’s broader actions. The faculty board is tasked with, for example, the preparation, resource planning and implementation of the faculty’s operational programme, approval of the faculty’s action and financial plan as well as its personnel plan. Additionally, the Faculty Board follows and guides the communications of the faculty’s affairs to the personnel and students. The rector hears the Faculty Board when choosing a dean or educational dean.

In addition to students the Faculty Board, according to the University Regulations 8§ includes the dean, faculty staff and external members who have expertise on the faculty’s areas of competence. The Boards meeting times vary, most meet a couple of times per semester.

The faculty board is tasked with assisting the faculty’s management in the following matters:

1) the preparation and implementation of the faculty’s operational programme;
2) the preparation of the faculty’s action and financial plan as well as its personnel plan;
3) monitoring the faculty’s activities and finances; and
4) communicating the faculty’s affairs to the personnel and students

  • Faculty of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine

    Members:

    Elli Kononen, jkononen20@student.oulu.fi

    Marjaana Sarpola. marjaana.sarpola@student.oulu.fi

    Deputy members:

    Cécile Rabardel

  • Faculty of Humanities

    Members:

    Santtu Mäenpää, santtumaenpaa@gmail.com

    Lotta Ojala, lotta.e.ojala@student.oulu.fi

    Deputy Members:

    Kalle Parviainen,
    Vilma Sippola

  • Oulu Business School

    Member:

    Jasmin Urpilainen, jasmin.urpilainen@student.oulu.fi

    Deputy Member:

    Juho Väärä

  • Faculty of Education and Psychology

    Members:

    Saila Pihlajamaa, saila.pihlajamaa@student.oulu.fi

    Marko Venäläinen, marko.venalainen@student.oulu.fi

    Deputy Members:

    Ida Leipivaara,
    Taru Lyöri

  • Faculty of Medicine

    Members:

    Joakim Hulkkonen, joakim.hulkkonen@student.oulu.fi

    Maari Kytöharju, maari.kytoharju@student.oulu.fi

    Deputy Members:

    Julia Mäntylä,
    Antero Metso

  • Faculty of Science

    Members:

    Samu Vanhala, samu.vanhala@student.oulu.fi

    Elina Lassi, elina.lassi@student.oulu.fi

    Miikka Lukkaroinen, miikka.lukkaroinen@student.oulu.fi

    Deputy Members:

    Toni Hyvönen,
    Sara Väyrynen

  • Faculty of Technology

    Members:

    Tiitu-Lotta Paju, tpaju18@student.oulu.fi

    Christian Lilja, chrlilja@live.com

    Riikka Lebeitsuk, riikka1.lebeitsuk@gmail.com

    Deputy members:

    Iikka Kokkoniemi,
    Madhuri Rayadurgam,
    Nidhal Aga

  • Faculty of ITEE

    Members

    Aprotim Paul, aprotim.paul@student.oulu.fi

    Aapomikko Matti, aapomikko@gmail.com

     

    Deputy members:

    Fuad Al Parvez,
    Ahmed Jabir Zuhayr